The winners have been announced for the 2015 Radio Production Awards (RPAs), with two awards going to the team on the Christian O’Connell Breakfast Show and two to Cabin Pressure producer David Tyler of Pozzitive, including the special Gold Award sponsored by Audible.

montage of winners

The ceremony hosted on the evening of 24th November at London’s Hippodrome, was organised by the Radio Independents Group (RIG), with support from the Radio Academy. It was hosted by Radio 1 presenter Gemma Cairney and the guests presenting the awards included fellow presenters Goldirocks and Clara Amfo, as well as Dotun Adebayo, Roger Bolton, Sue McGregor and journalist and presenter John McCarthy.

theatre stage pic

The awards featured a special set from singer Nell Bryden, as well as a performance from comedian Jake Yapp. TBI Media was ‘Indie of the Year’ for projects such as Battle of Britain at 75, and Cathy Fitzgerald won both ‘Best Documentary/Feature Maker’ and the ‘Producer of the Year’ award. Production staff from indie company Whistledownalso won three awards.

Nell Bryden set

Now in their sixth year, the RPAs recognise and celebrate the production skills of radio and audio producers based in the UK or supplying UK-based broadcasters from overseas. This year’s nominees included 26 different indies, there were also 12 nominations for the BBC and 10 for commercial radio.

Glitter bombRoundhouse Radio won the new ‘Best Grassroots Production’ award, which encourages the participation of new and diverse talent in radio production. As well as the Grassroots award, this year also featured for the first time awards for Presenter Hero, which went to the Christian O’Connell Breakfast Show’s Richie Firth, and Best Nations & Regions Producer, which went to Paul Evans of Harvard Productions in Wales. Other Out-of-London winners included Bauer’s Tony McShane from Metro Radio in the North East, plus Manchester’s Sparklab Productions featured in a win for freelancer Steve Urquhart. Christian O’Connell’s Absolute Radio breakfast show featured again with Chris Skinner’saward for ‘Best Multi-Platform Creator’.

Roundhouse Radio picRIG’s Managing Director Will Jackson said: "Another amazing Radio Production Awards night has once again demonstrated the exceptional quality of audio production in the UK, both from the wide range of indie companies across the country, and from in-house teams including the BBC and Bauer Media. I'm particularly pleased that our new 'Grassroots Production' award highlights organisations working with new production talent, meaning the sector is well-placed to rise to the significant opportunities on offer in the coming years."

Above is the main text of the press release, which can be downloaded here as a pdf, including additional notes and full list of winners


Plain text links to main sections   Home: about AudioUK : Policy & Public AffairsCosts and Benefits : Information for all : Audiotrain & awardsMembers Only

AudioUK is a trading name of the Audio Producers Association, a company limited by guarantee, registration number 06527771, regd office Unit 2 Olympic Court, Whitehills Business Park, Blackpool, Lancashire, FY4 5GU

Contact information: Will Jackson, Managing Director   Kim Mason, Administrator